Copyright © 2006 Society of Hospital Medicine

The development of The Core Competencies would not have been possible without the support and assistance of the Society of Hospital Medicine staff and countless practicing Hospitalists across the United States. The editors thank Parmanand Singh for research assistance, Lillian Higgins for project coordination, and Dr. Daniel Budnitz for assistance with medical editing and chapter formatting. Kathryn Alexander deserves special thanks for her medical editing and expertise and mix of patience and persistence that brought this project to completion. The editors also thank their families for all their patience and support throughout the development process.

Society of Hospital Medicine leadership and subject matter experts who provided content, review and guidance include:

Preetha Basaviah, MD

Jasminka Criley, MD

Douglas Cutler, MD

Steve Embry, MD

Christine Faulk, MD

Scott Flanders, MD

Jeffrey Genato, MD

Jeanne Huddleston, MD

Jennifer Kleinbart, MD

David Likosky, MD

Frank Michota, MD

Kevin O'Leary, MD

Michael Rovzar, MD

Winthrop Whitcomb, MD

Kevin Whitford, MD

Dorothea Wild, MD

Mitch Wilson, MD

SHM Benchmarks Committee

SHM Education Committee

SHM Geriatrics Task Force

SHM Health Quality Patient Safety Committee

SHM Non Physician Providers Task Force

SHM Pediatrics Committee

SHM Ethics Committee

SHM Executive Board of Directors

SHM Leadership Committee

SHM Palliative Care Task Force

SHM Pediatrics Core Curriculum Task Force

   Comments ()